Language switcher

Letter to Premier Ford regarding paid sick leave

January 14, 2021

Sent via email

Premier of Ontario
Legislative Building
Queen's Park
Toronto ON M7A 1A1

Dear Premier Ford,

Throughout the COVID-19 pandemic, the evidence has become clear: paid sick leave is essential to protecting our province from the catastrophic impacts of unchecked virus transmission, and its toll on marginalized populations.

We are a coalition of healthcare and social service providers writing to express our urgent appeal for the immediate implementation of paid sick days for Ontario workers, including temporary and precariously employed workers, as a central measure to improve population health and stop the spread of COVID-19. Our request is in addition to the benefit provided by the federal government through The Canada Recovery Sickness Benefit.

We request that the Government of Ontario require all employers to provide a minimum of five annual paid sick days, and that the 2021 provincial budget fund and support employers to increase this to ten annual sick days during a declared infectious disease emergency like COVID-19.

This week’s modelling shows the situation is dire and requires a swift and immediate response to prevent our health systems from becoming further overwhelmed. Employers, workers, and their communities cannot wait any longer. Due to the urgency of this matter, we are requesting your immediate response.


Allan O’Dette
Chief Executive Officer
Ontario Medical Association

Sarah Hobbs
Chief Executive Officer
Alliance for Healthier Communities

Dr. Doris Grinspun, RN, MSN, PhD, LLD(hon), Dr(hc), FAAN, FCAN, O.ONT
Chief Executive Officer
Registered Nurses' Association of Ontario (RNAO)

Kavita Mehta
Chief Executive Officer
Association of Family Health Teams of Ontario

Leanne Clarke
Chief Executive Officer
Ontario College of Family Physicians

Dana Cooper MBA, CAE
Chief Executive Officer
Nurse Practitioners’ Association of Ontario

Jennifer Clement
Past Chair
Nurse Practitioner Led Clinics Association

Deborah Simon
Chief Executive Officer
Ontario Community Support Association

Caroline Lidstone-Jones
Chief Executive Officer
Indigenous Primary Health Care Council

Hon. Christine Elliott, Minister of Health
Hon. Monte McNaughton, Minister of Labour
Dr. David Williams, Ontario Chief Medical Officer of Health

Monday, January 18, 2021